Weekly travel theme: Brights

With ‘Bright’ being this week’s travel theme, I decided this was the best time to pay tribute to three of India’s biggest celebrations – Diwali (the festival of lights), Holi (the festival of colours) and an Indian wedding.

Every Diwali, it is customary to draw a rangoli outside your home, decorating your design with colored powder, and placing a few lamps/candles aesthetically around your design. This was last year’s design – as you can see, it was a windy night, and some of the colour has spread. But it was the first time I’d drawn a rangoli all by myself (it was always something my mother took on), so I will still remember this fondly.

My very first rangoli outside our home during Diwali 2011, in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

The festival of Holi is celebrated every March, to commemorate the arrival of Spring. People gather on the streets and just throw colours on each other, rejoicing in the fact that winter’s over and done with, and the world is getting brighter again. My friends and I celebrated Holi in England last year, and it was the first time I’d played with colours with people who weren’t Indian and who didn’t know what Holi was. There’s such a great thrill in spreading your culture to your friends – I had a fantastic time.

My friends and I celebrating Holi in Nottingham, England

Earlier this year, my cousin got married in a traditional South Indian ceremony. Part of the ceremony requires both the bride and groom to sit on a swing decorated brightly with a mass of beautiful fresh flowers, while several rituals are performed. The couple also wear a traditional garland made of flowers, weighing almost five kilograms. The following is a shot of the swing during one of the rituals performed by the groom’s mother.

My cousins wedding ceremony, in Bangalore, India

If you’d like to join in this week’s travel theme, here’s what to do:

  • Create your own post and title it Travel Theme: Brights
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Get your post in by next Thursday, as the new travel theme comes out on Friday
  • Don’t forget to subscribe to keep up to date on the latest weekly travel themes at Ailsa’s Blog.
15 responses to “Weekly travel theme: Brights

  1. Pingback: Travel Theme: Bright | Four Deer Oak·

  2. Great looking rangoli. ;-) loved the colors of the wedding too. ;-)
    Thank you for checking in during the Hurricane… your kind wishes were appreciated!

  3. The picture of your cousin’s wedding is absolutely beautiful, and so colorful! This picture could easily be entered into a magazine competition…..I’m sure you would win! Happy Diwali!

  4. Pingback: Travel Theme: Bright. « the unbearable lightness of being me.·

  5. Pingback: Travel Theme: Bright | a hectic life·

  6. Pingback: travel theme: bright « my sweetpainteddreams·

Leave a Reply

