Weekly travel theme: Soft

When I was studying in the United Kingdom, it was the first time I’d ever lived away from Asia. One thing I really had to get used to was the cold. My room had carpet, which was great, but walking on carpet wasn’t what I was used to, and wasn’t enough to keep me warm. I found these leopard-printed warm slipper socks in Primark, and just had to get them. They’re so ridiculously comfortable that I literally had them on all the way until April!

My winter comfort – animal printed slipper socks, in Nottingham, United Kingdom

The “cuddliest” animal I have ever seen is the Koala. During my visit to Brisbane, I stopped by a Koala sanctuary, where Koalas are kept safe in their natural habitat. Its quite a tourist attraction, as you also have an opportunity to take a photo holding a baby Koala bear.

Who can resist that?!

Cuddling a Koala at the Lone Pine Sanctuary in Brisbane, Australia

If you know me (or have read the About me page on this blog, you’ll know that my name is Mridula. What many don’t know however, is that in the ancient Indian language of Sanskrit, ‘Mridula’ means soft.

I got my name painted on a wooden keychain during my visit to Malacca. The artist asked me what it meant, and he was impressed when I told him, so he also painted the words ‘success always’ beneath my name.

My name painted on a wooden keychain in Malacca, Malaysia

If you’d like to join in this week’s travel theme, here’s what to do:

  • Create your own post and title it Travel Theme: Soft
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Get your post in by next Thursday, as the new travel theme comes out on Friday
  • Don’t forget to subscribe to keep up to date on the latest weekly travel themes on Ailsa’s blog
9 responses to “Weekly travel theme: Soft

  1. Pingback: Travel Theme: Soft | newsofthetimes·

  2. Pingback: A little more about me – my bucket list, part II | SeamlessStyle·

  3. Pingback: Travel theme: Soft « Eclipse Of The Moon·

Leave a Reply

