Review: Maybelline – Eye Studio® Lasting Drama™ Gel Eyeliner

This product has been around for a while, but I got my hands on it only a week ago, when my Rimmel liquid eyeliner failed on me. I decided to try on the gel eyeliner for change – the dramatic line that the photos show really appealed to me as I wear quite a considerable amount of eye makeup – I love making my eyes stand out, and normal liquid eyeliner used to be too subtle for my tastes. I used to wear layers of it for that dramatic look, and figured I wouldn’t have to do that with this gel eyeliner.

I was right! For once, the advertisement actually calls it like it is. It allows you to line your eyes to whatever suits you – a subtle outline for daywear or a dramatic stroke for nights out. The stiff brush allows you to paint on your eyelids without the worry of not keeping to the lash line. The gel-like consistency is great, in the sense that you don’t need to wait for it to dry before blinking, nor do you need to use a lot of it to smear your entire eyelid. I have been using it daily for a week now and I’ve barely scratched the surface of the pot. The application is smooth and can be done in one stroke. And yes, it really is smudge proof, unless like me you are unfortunate enough to have oily skin, which causes a small buildup near the corner of your eyes. However it lasts all day, giving the impression that you’ve just done your makeup even after 8 hours (it is supposed to last for 24 hours but I don’t fancy testing that out).

The best part is that this product is safe for contact lens wearers. I did not have any difficulty in both applying and removing the eyeliner – no burning sensation whatsoever.

While its not 100% waterproof, it does slightly wear out when you wash your face with water. However, it is definitely not runny nor does it look washed out, so I really doubt if it would smear all over if you cried or if it rained or if you took part in a water balloon fight (I’m not trying to be funny, we actually had that in our society here yesterday).

The product is available in 4 shades: blackest black, brown, charcoal and eggplant. Highly recommend it! I would take a picture to show you guys but I photograph horribly in closeups. But if done right, its similar to the picture above.

Leave a Reply

