A little more about me – my bucket list, Part I

You know all those things you swear you’re going to do before you die? Bucketlist is where you go to keep track of them all. Bucketlist is a social network, a warehouse of interesting stories, a way to kick-start your life goals.

I joined the network.

Bucket lists require a lot of thought. I read mine over and thought, am I done with this? Do I only have 50 goals in my life? That’s it? I have always thought of myself as an ambitious person, biting off more than I can chew.

So I have concluded – this isn’t done. This list isn’t finished. But I thought that since I’m new to WordPress, I would like my readers (and those browsing by) to know a little more about me, and I think a bucket list is a perfect way to achieve that.

Part I of my bucket list (that’s this blog post) describes 25 goals. Part II (my next blog post) will address the remaining.

So here we go, in random order:

1. Throw a coin in the Trevi Fountain

Rumoured to make all your wishes come true. I could use some of that!

2. Stand on The Equator

Pretty self-explanatory. I want to stand with one foot on the northern hemisphere and one foot on the southern hemisphere. I did that in Greenwich, but the equator is something different.

3. Live in a house with secret doors, rooms, or passages

How cool would this be?! I’d be living in my own Victorian Mansion where stash would be hidden behind the bookcase in the library or behind the fireplace in the living room.

4. Experience Oktoberfest

Oktoberfest is a 16-day festival held annually in Munich, Bavaria, Germany, running from late September to the first weekend in October. It is one of the most famous events in Germany and is the world’s largest fair, with more than 5 million people attending every year. The Oktoberfest is an important part of Bavarian culture, having been held since 1810. Other cities host Oktoberfest as well, modeled after the one in Munich. I was in Germany for three months during the summer of 2011, but didn’t have the time to head to Munich where the ‘real’ celebration is. Hopefully over the next few years I’ll get there.

5. Witness paranormal activity

I want to believe in ghosts, I really do.  Yet, there’s absolutely no way I can unless I see some paranormal activity with my own eyes.

6. Learn Spanish

Well I’m heading to Barcelona in two years to begin my MBA at IESE Business School. I’m really excited about this – firstly because I’ll be living in SPAIN, and secondly because I’ll learn Spanish. I’m already multi-lingual (Tamil, English, Hindi, French and German) and I would love to add Spanish to that list. So I’m taking Spanish lessons!

7. Own one of my dream cars

Unfortunately the car is question keeps changing. When I was in high school, this car was a Mini Cooper. When I was studying engineering, the car was a Lexus convertible. Now it’s a Range Rover. Clearly there will never be a time when I can afford to have all three (and even if I could, why would I buy three cars?!) so I hope I will decide on one soon!

8. Ride a segway

Again, pretty self-explanatory. Its a great way to see a new city, but kind of weird. I really want to try it out.

9. Take a cruise

I’ve had the good fortune to take many cruises. My first was two nights in a houseboat along the rivers of Kerala, India. My second was StarCruise, a luxury cruise ship from Malaysia to Singapore, Phuket and back. And finally, a cruise along the river Nile. 

10. Canoe in Venice

Either as a group or with that special person.

11. Be part of a Flash Mob

Flash Mobs are hilarious. You can’t keep your eyes off them. We had one in University but I wasn’t a part of it – next time, I will be.

12. Catch a bouquet at a wedding

This is gonna be a little difficult considering I’m not Christian. But I do have Christian friends, who will (hopefully) invite me to their wedding, so I might still have a chance!

13. Walk on fire

My dad has done this. Apparently it doesn’t hurt AT ALL. In fact, it doesn’t even feel like fire. The whole exercise tests your mental strength – those who are mentally strong do not feel the burn at all. I’m excited to test this out someday.

14. Participate in a Holi festival

The festival has many purposes. First and foremost, it celebrates the beginning of the new season, spring. Originally, it was a festival that commemorated good harvests and the fertile land. Although it is the least religious holiday, it is probably one of the most exhilarating ones in existence. During this event, participants hold a bonfire, throw colored powder at each other, and celebrate wildly. I’m Indian. Enough said. Living in India meant joining the crowd in throwing colours on each other, and every March for the first eleven years of my life, I’ve celebrated Holi.

15. Own a walk-in closet

As a girl strongly interested in fashion, it would be a crime not to own a walk-in closet. I have a vision of a circular room with shelves and rods all around to hang my things, with a full-length mirror in the middle (I’m probably coming across as incredibly vain and materialistic here. I’m not. But I do love fashion).

16. Hike the whole Pacific Crest Trail

The Pacific Crest Trail is a long-distance mountain hiking and equestrian trail closely aligned with the highest portion of the Sierra Nevada and Cascade Range, which lie 100 to 150 miles east of the U.S. Pacific coast. The trail’s southern terminus is on the U.S. border with Mexico, and its northern terminus is in British Columbia, Canada; its corridor through the U.S. is in the states of California, Oregon, and Washington. The Pacific Crest Trail is 2,663 mi (4,286 km) long, and the route passes through 25 national forests and 7 national parks. It was designated a National Scenic Trail in 1968, although it was not officially completed until 1993.

How cool would this be?

17. Go to a party on a fort in the sea

So I didn’t actually know this existed – I stole it from someone else’s bucket list. This woman had a friend’s wedding party in a fort in the middle of the sea – and I love the idea.

18. Obtain an MBA

Already working on this one! As mentioned above, I have already secured admission to IESE, Barcelona, so once I’m done with two years of work, this goal would have been accomplished.

17. Stay at a bed and breakfast

My grandparents, my parents and I all went on a 29-day road trip in 2005 from Adelaide to Brisbane, passing through Melbourne, Sydney and Gold Coast. Staying at a B&B was a must, as our accommodation wasn’t preplanned. This was the first time I’d not stayed at a hotel, and it was a lot of fun. We met some really sweet elderly couples and staying at B&Bs gave us a very comfortable stay.

19. Work in the fashion industry

Guess this blog is a start! I had originally thought of this blog to be purely fashion-related, but then couldn’t help include other aspects of my life – travel and food. I hope to work in the fashion industry some day, either in Marketing or as a journalist (if my English improves!)

20. Honeymoon in the Caribbean

I had decided this at the age of 10 I think. There’s something about the Caribbean Islands that I find very attractive, and I want a three-week honeymoon right in the middle of them.

21. Send a message in a bottle

Maybe somewhere down the line someone will find the bottle, read the message, and give me a call. Or perhaps it will be lost at sea, forever. Either way, this would be rather thrilling.

22. Visit Mt. Everest

I’m Indian. I live right next to Nepal and the Himalayas. Yet I’ve never been to that part of the world. I have no intention of even trying to climb Mt. Everest, but I do want to see it.

23. See the Pyramids of Egypt

I visited Egypt in 2010. I didn’t have a blog then to do a travel diary but I’ll try to do it soon. See my post ‘Weekly photo challenge: Geometry‘. 

24. Ride a camel in Egypt

I’ve ridden a camel in both Egypt and Dubai. You’d think I’m used to it. But every time I sit on a camel and it gets up, I scream. It’s such a big animal!! 

25. Go on a backpacking holiday

Everyone talks about backpacking across Western Europe. I don’t even have a place in mind. I can backpack anywhere. I have always had planned holidays – sleep here today, go there tomorrow etc..while I know a backpacking holiday doesn’t mean a holiday with no plans, it would be nice to just go with the flow.

So that’s Part I of my bucket list! Anything there you liked?

One response to “A little more about me – my bucket list, Part I

  1. Pingback: A little more about me – my bucket list, part II | SeamlessStyle·

Leave a Reply

