A travelling bucket list

I was eight years old when I took my first ever international flight – a family holiday to Singapore. I remember how excited I was about the concept of flying; my dad had given me a window seat and I spent the entire three and a half hour journey looking out of the window. I remember being thrilled at takeoff, when the city I call home became smaller and smaller until all I could see were clouds, which seemed like endless rows of white cotton puffs. I remember the fear as the scenery didn’t change for three hours, asking my dad if we were standstill in midair, and if we would fall to the ground anytime (even at that age I fully understood the concept of gravity). I remember the excitement returning as Singapore became larger and larger.

Last weekend, I was performing the really exciting task of cleaning up my Mac when I came across a Word document I’d made as a child. It was a list of countries in the world that I wanted to visit before I die. Even at that age I’d known that I wouldn’t get to travel the entire world. I’d made it after my first trip abroad, with some research on the most beautiful places in the world.

I remember the look and feel of a new foreign land – different infrastructure, strange people, stranger food, stunning scenery, beautiful architecture – different colours all around me. And that wonder still hasnt ceased to exist – as I turned 22 on Monday, I have realised that travelling the world, meeting new people and becoming aware of different traditions not only bring new adventures into my life, but are also the things that have really shaped me into who I am today – a cross-cultural, multilingual tolerant human being.

So to celebrate my 22nd birthday, here is the list I’d made as a child, in no particular order. It consists of 75 countries, which contributes to 40% of the countries in the United Nations, and if I do get to visit these in my lifetime, I’d count myself incredibly lucky.

If anyone has any suggestions or what to add/remove, do tell!

Canada
Argentina
Austria
Barbados
Singapore
Israel
New Zealand
Russia
Madagascar
Ireland
Malaysia
Thailand
Korea
Bahamas
Cape Verde
Belize
China
Greece
Brazil
Indonesia
Brunei
Australia
Morocco
Portugal
Romania
Italy
USA
Nepal
Chile
Cuba
Costa Rica
Kenya
South Africa
Peru
El Salvador
England
Scotland
Wales
Fiji
Japan
Jamaica
Turkey
Germany
Switzerland
Liechtenstein
Malta
Luxembourg
Belgium
France
Spain
Czech Republic
Mexico
Panama
Finland
Macau
Hong Kong
Netherlands
Trinidad
Sweden
Maldives
Nigeria
Egypt
UAE
Bahrain
Kazakhstan
Aruba
Samoa
Seychelles
Mauritius
Qatar (in 2020)
Latvia
Tibet
Iceland
Lebanon

13 responses to “A travelling bucket list

  1. That’s a great list and it looks like you’ve put quite the dent in it already!

    I’d add Cambodia though, it is remarkable! And I was really happy to see that Peru made your list – make sure it isn’t one of the ones you miss out on! Travel safe. 🙂

    • Oooh yea I have heard a lot about Cambodia, have you been there? I’d love to hear all about your experience 🙂 Thanks for the suggestion! And I’ll definitely try and prioritise Peru – I have a friend from there and she can’t stop raving about it so I think its a must-visit!

  2. I’ve learn some excellent stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how a lot effort you put to create such a excellent informative site.

  3. Don’ t remove Latvia – you know…the socks and everything else! 🙂 And I would suggest also Bulgaria – when you get to Romania, just nearby and so many beautiful places&friendly people.

    • Haha yes I definitely need those socks! 😉
      Thanks for suggesting Bulgaria, I have heard some scary things about the place actually, which is why I initially didn’t put it on my list. But hey, sometime horrific things happen, doesn’t mean the entire country should be avoided! I’ll definitely keep it in mind, and would love to hear more about your experiences there!
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂 x

  4. Pingback: A little more about me – my bucket list, part II | SeamlessStyle·

  5. Pingback: Impressions from Cambodia | SeamlessStyle·

Leave a Reply

